Artist Description: 
In addition to his phenomenal career as first violinist of the Arditti Quartet, Irvine Arditti continues to excel as an extraordinary soloist. Born in London in 1953, he began his studies at the Royal Academy of Music at the age of 16. He joined the London Symphony Orchestra in 1976 and after two years, at the age of 25, became its Co-Concert Master. He left the orchestra in 1980 in order to devote more time to the Arditti Quartet, which he had formed while still a student.
During the past decade Irvine Arditti has given world premières of numerous large scale works written for him: these include Xenakis’ Dox Orkh and Hosokawa’s Landscape III, both for violin and orchestra, as well as Ferneyhough’s Terrain, Francesconi’s Riti Neurali, Dillon’s Vernal Showers and Harvey’s Scena, all for violin and ensemble. He has appeared with many distinguished orchestras and ensembles, including the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestre National de Paris,  Asko Ensemble, Nieuw Ensemble and the London Sinfonietta.
Artist Firstname: 
Artist Lastname: 
Artist Instrument: 
Artist Name Tag: 
Artist Image: