Artist Description: 

The Goldberg Ensemble of 11 solo strings was formed in 1982 by Malcolm Layfield. It has given broadcasts and performances in concert series and festivals throughout Britain and in Europe, South America and the Far East with soloists such as the Apollo Saxophone Quartet, Barry Guy/Maya Homburger Duo, Michael Collins, Sarah Leonard, John Lill, Tasmin Little, Wayne Marshall, Raphael Wallfisch and Richard Watkins.

In the 1990s the Ensemble developed a commitment to new music and British composers, performing world premières on BBC Radio Three and appearing at new music events such as Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival. Between 2001 and 2008 the Ensemble presented an annual Celebration of New Music for Strings on Tour, presenting public concerts and workshops for schools and university music departments, taking in venues at Bristol, Birmingham, Durham, Huddersfield, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton, Wolverhampton and York. In addition to performing existing string works written by British composers since the 1980s, new works were commissioned for the Celebration tours from: Judith Bingham, Gary Carpenter, Michael Clarke, Joe Cutler, Joe Duddell, Christopher Fox, Anthony Gilbert, Adam Gorb, Barry Guy, Nicola LeFanu, Dominic Muldowney, Paul Patterson, Thomas Simaku, Howard Skempton and Benjamin Wallfisch.

Artist Lastname: 
Goldberg Ensemble
Artist Instrument: 
Artist Name Tag: 
Artist Image: