Artist Description: 

Fiddler, composer, producer, curator. With his trio Lau, in multiple solo projects and in collaborations, Aidan O’Rourke has pioneered a new sound in folk music and redefined traditional forms.
As a solo artist, Aidan is always looking for new ways to articulate the tradition. He has released five solo albums – Sirius (2006), An Tobar (2008), Hotline (2013), 365: Vol 1 (2018) and 365: Vol 2 (2019) – as well as the experimental EPs Music For Exhibition and Film (2015) and Imprint (2016). He was named Musician of the Year at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2014.
As a composer, Aidan threads his heritage into diverse settings. He is a three-time winner of the PRSF New Music Biennial commission at the Southbank Centre; other commissioners include the Scottish Ensemble, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Sage Gateshead, Celtic Connections, the Tolbooth in Stirling, An Tobar, Cottier Chamber Project, Capella Nova and the Scottish Ensemble. In 2017 he wrote the official music for the opening of the Queensferry Crossing.

Artist Firstname: 
Artist Lastname: 
Artist Instrument: 
Artist Name Tag: 
Artist Image: 
Image Credit: