Artist Description: 
The Zorian Quartet was an English all-female string quartet ensemble. It was founded in 1942 by and named after violinist Olive Zorian. It gave the premiere performances of, and made the first recordings of, several compositions for string quartet by English composers, including Benjamin Britten and Michael Tippett. It also gave the premiere English performances of quartets by Ernest Bloch and Béla Bartók. The original members were Olive Zorian (1916–65, violin I); Marjorie Lavers (violin II); Winifred Copperwheat (1905–76, viola); and Norina Semino (cello). Some sources say that the quartet disbanded in 1949. Other sources say that it continued to perform for at least another ten years. The later date is supported by evidence that the violinist Frances Mason and the cellist Eleanor Warren were members of the Zorian Quartet in the 1950s.
Artist Lastname: 
Zorian Quartet
Artist Instrument: 
Artist Name Tag: