Next Wave 2
Higher Education Artist Development Project

Ji Sun YangJi Sun Yang

Ji Sun Yang (1979 Seoul, South Korea) is a composer, pianist and accompanist. She studied composition (BA) at Sook-Myung Women’s University in Seoul and in 2003, she moved to the Netherlands, continuing her studies (BA/MA) at the Hague Royal Conservatory. She studied with Sue-Yeon Hong, Gilius van Bergeijk and Martijn Padding. Currently she is a PhD candidate at University of York, UK and her supervisor is Dr Thomas Simaku.

She was invited to perform her music in festivals such as Gaudeamus Music Week in Amsterdam, NL in 2007 / 2008 / 2010, ISCM in Sydney and Belgium 2010 / 2012, Dag in the branding in the Hague in 2008 and Nederlandse Muziekdagen in 2009. She was commissioned by ensembles such as Percussion Group the Hague, Spectra Ensemble, Ensemble Klang, Trio Agartha and Doelen String Quartet. Her music was also performed by Asko Ensemble, TIMF ensemble, Ensemble besides, Trio La Mer, Zenas Kim, Leonard Kwon and Chimera Ensemble.

In 2008, she worked with ‘Dans Theater’ in Regentes Theater, the Hague and afterwards she was invited as a residency composer and she was one of  the invited composers for ‘John Cage Anarchy of Silence’. Ji Sun attended the summer course ‘Ostrava Days 2007’ in the Czech Republic and in 2008 she attended the ‘Apeldoorn Young Composers Meeting’ in NL with ‘Orkest Ereprijs’. In 2008, she travel to the US for ‘Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival’ in Massachusetts. Her work for percussion quartet has been awarded third prize in the composition competition of the Percussive Arts Society in Italy, 2009.


Read Ji Sun's blog for NMC here.


Photo: Stuart Leech



Ji Sun Yang on Next Wave