• Total duration: 16'39
  • MP3 | 320K 44.1 KHz
    35.1 MB
     | PRICE £0.79

  • FLAC 16 | 16bit 44.1 KHz
    83.40 MB
     | PRICE £0.89



Artists: Mary Ann Kennedy, singer/harp

Scott MacMillan, guitar

Aonghas MacNeacail & Christine MacDonald, narrators

Colin Grant, Cape Breton fiddle

Angus MacKenzie, pipes

Brodie Jarvie, bass

Allan Og MacDonald, percussion

Inverness Gaelic Choir

Scottish Festival Strings


Aiseag (The Ferryboat) is connection. A lifelong fascination creates a journey between the Highlands and Canada’s Gaelic diaspora. Electronica and found sound, Cape Breton and Scottish Highland musicians, a Gaelic choir and a Glasgow string section all aboard with composers Mary Ann Kennedy and Scott Macmillan, audio designer Nick Turner and poet, Aonghas MacNeacail.

‘I am extremely excited to be collaborating with Mary Ann, Nick and writer Aonghas MacNeacail for the New Music Biennial, exploring cultural connections that are ferried between the Celtic diaspora of Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia and the Celtic nations of the UK. The project will also fulfil a personal ambition to create new music for contemporary Gaelic writing.’ Scott Macmillan, Nova Scotia, Canada, composer/guitarist

‘We hope that Aiseag for the New Music Biennal will help inspire an understanding of two sister cultures within the Commonwealth, rooted in part in the dramatic landscape that surrounds our Watercolour Music studios in Highland Scotland. It continues our ongoing passion for the connections between language, music, people, land – and of course, sea.’

Nick Turner, Director, Watercolour Music


For more information about all 20 pieces of the New Music Biennial, visit our page: http://www.nmcrec.co.uk/new-music-biennial



Watercolour Music

Aiseag was commissioned by Watercolour Music.


Produced with the support of partners and funders:

New Music Biennial Funders


The performance of Aiseag was recorded live by the BBC at the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall on 2 August 2014 and broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 9 August 2014.

Catalogue number:
NMC DL201416
Release Date:
5 September 2014