BBC Concert Orchestra

BBC Concert Orchestra
The BBC Concert Orchestra is the UK’s most versatile orchestra. Their action-packed, eclectic schedule boasts concert programmes with music from Haydn to Tchaikovsky, film scores with Will Gregory (Goldfrapp) and the Pet Shop Boys to gigs alongside the Guillemots, Kasabian, Annie Lennox, KD Lang and Will Young.
The 56 players happily switch between recording shimmering scores for TV like Planet Earth, Coast, Walking with Dinosaurs, Kombat Opera and Sports Personality of the Year to building talent and audiences of the future in schools workshops in London and the South East. The Orchestra’s Composer-in-Residence is Jonny Greenwood (otherwise best-known for his work with Radiohead). His score for the film There will be Blood which was recorded with the BBC Concert Orchestra was nominated for two Golden Globes and a BAFTA.
  • Total duration: 15'15
  • MP3 | 320K 44.1 KHz
     | PRICE £0.79
  • FLAC 16 | 16bit 44.1 KHz
     | PRICE £0.89
  • Album Booklet PDF | FREE



Gazelle Twin vocals
BBC Concert Orchestra
André de Ridder conductor

Composer, producer and musician Gazelle Twin’s collaboration with composer Max de Wardener brings the blend of traditional musical concepts and futuristic pop from her latest album Pastoral (an album of 2018 for BBC6Music, The Quietus and many more) to a full symphony orchestra. Gazelle Twin is the moniker for performance artist, composer and producer Elizabeth Bernholz whose conceptual albums present dystopian themes through unconventional electronic production and extraordinary live performances which feature changing personas.

[New Music Biennial - Live Recording]


This piece is part of New Music Biennial 2019. For more information about the project and to download the New Music Biennial album, please visit our project page:


The Power and the Glory is commissioned by BBC Concert Orchestra.


The performance of The Power and the Glory was recorded live by the BBC at Southbank Centre, London on 6 July 2019 and broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 6 July 2019.

Catalogue number:
NMC DL201902
Release Date:
9 August 2019